ByTom Bacon, writer at
I'm a film-and-TV fan who grew up with a deep love of superhero comics! Follow me on Twitter @TomABacon or on Facebook @tombaconsuperheroes!
Tom Bacon

Star Wars is back — and bigger than ever! Purchased by Disney back in 2012, the franchise has returned to the big screens with a relaunched Skywalker Saga, and all-new spin-off movies like Rogue One. Dig a little deeper into the franchise, though, and fans quickly realize that there's a lot more to Star Wars than just a series of blockbuster movies. The wider Star Wars universe embraces everything from novels to computer games, from animated TV shows to ongoing comic book series. It's easy to get overwhelmed — so here's our primer on the wider Star Wars universe!

The Star Wars Universe: A Brief History Lesson

The first cover for 'Splinter of the Mind's Eye'. [Credit: Ballantine)
The first cover for 'Splinter of the Mind's Eye'. [Credit: Ballantine)

The first Star Wars movie, A New Hope, was released back in 1977; within a year, the franchise had branched out into new media. The first Star Wars novel, Splinter of the Mind's Eye, was published in 1978, and written by popular fantasy author Alan Dean Foster. It continued the story that, at the time, Lucas wasn't convinced he'd be able to tell. Giving an indication of just how little the future had really been planned out, Foster enjoyed building up the frisson of romantic tension between Luke and Leia, who the movies would later reveal to be siblings!

In a prologue added to the 1996 edition of Splinter of the Mind's Eye, Lucas explained the logic that would become central to the developing Star Wars franchise:

"After Star Wars was released, it became apparent that my story – however many films it took to tell – was only one of thousands that could be told about the characters who inhabit its galaxy. But these were not stories that I was destined to tell. Instead, they would spring from the imagination of other writers, inspired by the glimpse of a galaxy that Star Wars provided. Today, it is an amazing, if unexpected, legacy of Star Wars that so many gifted writers are contributing new stories to the Saga."

Luke Skywalker in the 'Dark Empire' comics, one of Lucas's favorite stories. [Credit: Dark Horse]
Luke Skywalker in the 'Dark Empire' comics, one of Lucas's favorite stories. [Credit: Dark Horse]

As the years passed, Lucasfilm took a tiered approach to the canon. Anything that was created by George Lucas himself was considered to be 'God-Level' canon (i.e. fixed and beyond dispute). Below God-level, you had everything else: an ever-more-tangled web of comics, novels, TV shows, and even computer games. Where this so-called 'Expanded Universe' (or 'EU') contradicted with the God-Level canon, it was cast aside and dubbed 'Infinities'. Otherwise, everything was canon.

Then, in 2012, Disney purchased Lucasfilm. They swiftly realized that they had to completely abandon this approach in order to make Star Wars work again.

The New Canon

The fundamental problem with the old EU is that it grew far too complex and restrictive. Thanks to the (tremendous) Star Wars: Legacy comic book series, it even charted events far ahead into the future of the Galaxy Far, Far Away, locking in the character journeys of iconic figures such as Luke, Han and Leia. If Lucasfilm was going to successfully relaunch the film franchise, they'd need to go back to the drawing board. So everything from the old EU was dubbed "Legend" — which meant it was no longer canon. All the old continuity was shelved, and Lucasfilm began again.

They assembled the Lucasfilm Story Group, a team of continuity experts whose job is to ensure that continuity between the different projects remains tight. Now, in a much simpler approach, everything is equally canon. Whether you're talking about a short-story published in the official Star Wars Insider magazine, a novel, the Star Wars: Battlefront game, or the tie-in comics, they're all part of the same continuity, and they're all equally canon with the movies. The Lucasfilm Story Group's job is to coordinate all these, to make sure there aren't any continuity slip-ups, and to stagger releases in an effective marketing strategy.

What's In the Canon Star Wars Universe?

Now, the Star Wars universe includes:

Incredibly, Lucasfilm has also announced that the Star Wars Land theme park being built at Disneyland Resort is also canon! We don't yet know much about it, but Disney’s Scott Trowbridge has explained:

"It’s a remote frontier outpost somewhere on the edge of wild space. This used to be a vibrant trading port back in the old sub-lightspeed days. But now with the advent of hyperspace, its prominence has fallen and faded a little bit, which made it a great spot for those who didn’t want to be on that mainstream path — the smugglers, the bounty hunters, rogue adventures looking to crew up, the people who don’t want to be found… basically all the interesting people."

Concept art for Star Wars Land. [Credit: Lucasfilm]
Concept art for Star Wars Land. [Credit: Lucasfilm]

It's due to open in 2019.

It's worth noting that the new canon does often pick up elements from the old EU, but it always assumes you're being introduced to those elements for the first time. Knowledge of the old EU is not necessary to get your head around the new Star Wars universe.

So How Do I Get Into This Wider Universe?

Rey in 'The Force Awakens'. [Credit: Lucasfilm]
Rey in 'The Force Awakens'. [Credit: Lucasfilm]

One of the advantages of Star Wars is that there's something for everyone — so it all depends on your tastes. Here are some examples:

  • If you like to read novels, the range of tie-ins for - including James Luceno's Tarkin and Catalyst, and Alexander Freed's novelization of Rogue One - are excellent. Meanwhile, Lucasfilm has recently announced the "Journey To The Last Jedi" range, which will sit alongside Claudia Grey's tremendous novel Bloodline.
  • For comic book fans, the main title is Jason Aaron's ongoing Star Wars comic, set after the events of A New Hope. Marvel has a useful habit of including a recap page at the front of each comic, so it's fine to dive right in! Most of Marvel's other miniseries are set in the same kind of time-zone, and I'd particularly recommend the trade paperbacks of Kieron Gillen's excellent Darth Vader series. Mark Waid's Princess Leia miniseries, now collected in a single trade paperback, is also highly recommended.
'Vader Down'. [Credit: Marvel Comics]
'Vader Down'. [Credit: Marvel Comics]

If you're anything like me, you'll soon find yourself captivated by the unfolding story of the Galaxy Far, Far Away. The overall continuity is so very detailed, and it's tremendously immersive. So be ready to find yourself trying out mediums you'd never expected!

What's Next?

Darth Maul. [Credit: Lucasfilm]
Darth Maul. [Credit: Lucasfilm]

Over in the comics, we're partway through the Darth Maul miniseries — only the second Marvel miniseries to be set during the Prequel Era. Meanwhile, Jason Aaron and Kieron Gillen are about to launch a major Star Wars comic book event, "The Screaming Citadel." These two writers have been responsible for some tremendous tales, and their last event - "Vader Down" - was tremendous. So this will be an excellent jumping-on point.

The latest Star Wars novel, Thrawn, is an unusual one; it marks the return of fan-favorite author Timothy Zahn to the Star Wars franchise. It features Grand Admiral Thrawn, an EU character who's been subtly adapted for the new canon, and it's definitely worth a read.

See also:

So there you have it — your primer to the wider Star Wars universe! You're only at the beginning of an exciting journey, and I encourage you to dive straight in. I'll be keeping this page up-to-date with any developments, so keep coming back for the latest news!


Which are you most likely to check out?

(Poll Image Credit: Lucasfilm)


Latest from our Creators