ByTino Jochimsen, writer at
The bald minority at Moviepilot.
Tino Jochimsen

The Directors Guild of America (DGA) announced the nominees for their 66th DGA Awards this afternoon.

The five lucky gentlemen (again no lady there) up for the prestigious award are:

for Gravity

for Captain Phillips

Steve McQueen for 12 Years A Slave

for American Hustle

for The Wolf of Wall Street

All five nominees could probably have been expected. Alfonso Cuaron delivered a true directing tour-de-force with Gravity, while Paul Greengrass transformed what could have been a simple, thrilling hostage drama into a (thrilling) shocking commentary about third-world problems with Captain Phillips.

Steve McQueen made the first truly unrelenting movie about slavery with 12 Years a Slave. How could you not honor such a unique vision? David O. Russell's American Hustle drew mostly raves, is doing well at the box office and has the unbeatable Jennifer Lawrence factor.

The only perhaps a tad unexpected choice is Martin Scorsese, with The Wolf of Wall Street getting some flank for its perceived ambivalent stance towards its protagonist. Then again: it's Martin Scorsese. Who are we kidding!

On a personal note: where the hell are the Coen brothers for Inside Llewyn Davis?

The winner of the DGA award will be announced on January 25.

Who do you think should win? Or who should have been nominated? Tell us below!


Latest from our Creators