ByDave Conley, writer at
"Smokey, this is not 'Nam. This is bowling. There are rules."
Dave Conley
Can Groot Rock?
Can Groot Rock?

Hollywood Records and Marvel are set to release three albums from Marvel’s "Guardians of the Galaxy" on July 29, 2014. This music from Peter Quill's past plays a major part in the upcoming film.

“One of the main story points in the movie is that Quill has this compilation tape [Awesome Mix Vol. 1] that he got from his mother before she died that she made for him. It was of songs that she loved, all songs from the 1970s, and that’s the only thing he has left of his mother and that’s the only thing he has left of his home on Earth. He uses that as a connection to his past and to the sadness that he feels of having left all that and lost all that.”
James Gunn

Music is such an integral part of this movie that Gunn worked with his composer on the movie's score, before he even started principal photography. That's usually something they do after filming is done.

“I worked very hard early on with Tyler Bates, our composer, whom I've done three other movies with, to write part of the score ahead of time so that I’m able to use it on set for big emotional sequences and big action sequences. We can actually play the music on set and the actors can really understand where we’re going with it tonally. Our actors have a much better idea of what this film is because of the music that we use, both score and soundtrack.”

I have to say I love Gunn's taste in music so I've put all the videos here for you just in case you can't wait to see these when the film opens August 1st! Here is the track list-


1. “Hooked on a Feeling” Performed by Blue Swede

2. “Go All the Way” Performed by Raspberries

3. “Spirit in the Sky”* Performed by Norman Greenbaum *Not in film

4. “Moonage Daydream” Performed by David Bowie

5. “Fooled Around and Fell in Love” Performed by Elvin Bishop

6. “I’m Not in Love” Performed by 10cc

7. “I Want You Back” Performed by Jackson 5

8. “Come and Get Your Love” Performed by Redbone

9. “Cherry Bomb” Performed by The Runaways

10. “Escape (The Piña Colada Song)” Performed by Rupert Holmes

11. “O-O-H Child” Performed by The Five Stairsteps

12. “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” Performed by Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell

"Guardians of the Galaxy Deluxe," "Guardians of the Galaxy Awesome Mix Vol. 1" and "Guardians of the Galaxy" digital score soundtrack will be available on July 29, 2014. The album is now available for pre-order at



Latest from our Creators