ByJess O'Kane, writer at
Big in Japan
Jess O'Kane

It's been 50 years since Doctor Who first hit our screens with it's loveable blend of sci-fi, questionable fashion choices and legendary monsters.

The 12th incarnation of the Doctor sees sweary Scotsman Peter Capaldi take up the sonic screwdriver, alongside Jenna Coleman as his companion Clara.

To celebrate 50 years of awesomeness, last year Puffin commissioned 12 new short stories based on the series by authors such as Malorie Blackman and Eoin Colfer.

The ebooks are now being compiled into a paperback boxset, featuring some seriously cool covers. They're minimal but unrecognisably Who all the same.

I think Tip of the Tongue is my favourite. What do you think?


A Big Hand For The Doctor, by Eoin Colfer (William Hartnell's first Doctor)

The Nameless City, by Michael Scott (Patrick Troughton's second Doctor)

The Spear of Destiny, by Marcus Sedgwick (Jon Pertwee's third Doctor)

The Roots of Evil by Philip Reeve (Tom Baker's fourth Doctor)

Tip of the Tongue, by Patrick Ness (Peter Davidson's fifth Doctor)

Something Borrowed, by Richelle Mead (Colin Baker's sixth Doctor)

The Ripple Effect, by Malorie Blackman (Sylvester McCoy's seventh Doctor)

Spore, by Alex Scarrow (Paul McGann's eighth Doctor)

The Beast of Babylon, by Charlie Higson (Christopher Eccleston's ninth Doctor)

The Mystery of the Haunted Cottage, by Derek Landy (David Tennant's tenth Doctor)

Nothing O’Clock, by Neil Gaiman (Matt Smith's eleventh Doctor)

Lights Out, by Holly Black (Peter Capaldi's twelfth Doctor)

(Source: Radio Times)


Would you buy these?


Latest from our Creators