ByScott McCann, writer at
I write stuff for people to read on the internet. Occasionally play loud music in a dark room for strangers.
Scott McCann

The internet is currently losing its mind due to some major business taking place between Marvel Studios and Sony. Spidey is swinging back home and into the Marvel Cinematic Universe!


This does have some repercussions for the rest of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. A couple of months ago, Kevin Feige presented an expo at the El Capitan theater laying out the future of the MCU, and along with announcing the titles of films, he also announced their release dates. It shaped up like the image below.

Previous Phase 3
Previous Phase 3

Nice and neat... all in an easy to read timeline. However, with the addition of our friendly neighborhood spider-man, the phase has underwent a major reshuffle. Check out the new format below:

May 6, 2016: Captain America: Civil War

November 4, 2016: Doctor Strange

May 5, 2017: Guardians of the Galaxy 2

July 28, 2017: Amazing Spider-Man 3

November 4, 2017: Thor: Ragnarok

July 6, 2018: Black Panther

November 2, 2018: Captain Marvel

July 12, 2019: Inhumans

As you can see above, the changes are being made as soon as 2017, with Thor: Ragnarok moving from it's previous July spot for Amazing Spider-Man 3. (There is no word yet if this will be a soft reboot of the franchise). There is also no confirmation of any change in the release dates for the two part epic, Avengers: Infinity War. They were scheduled for May 4, 2018 and May 3, 2019.

So, although you may have to wait a bit longer for future MCU films, it's clear to see that we have an enthralling decade of superhero films ahead of us. And that's just the Marvel Universe!

Source: THR


Latest from our Creators