ByDaniel Pearson, writer at

It's all over. The 87th Academy Awards ceremony has brought to a close another fine year of cinema... and what a year it's been!

Contrary to prior opinion and analysis, director Alejandro González Iñárritu and his film, Birdman, wiped the floor with Boyhood in the clash of the titans bout. Iñárritu's epic, starring Michael Keaton and Edward Norton, won four of the night's biggest awards, including the sought-after 'Best Picture' and 'Best Director.' Boyhood, meanwhile, won just one as Patricia Arquette was named 'Best Supporting Actress.'

Wes Anderson's The Grand Budapest Hotel also had a good night, picking up four of the smaller awards.

Scroll down to see a full list of who won what!

Best Picture

Winner: Birdman (Alejandro G. Iñárritu, John Lesher, and James W. Skotchdopole)

Nominated: American Sniper, Boyhood, The Grand Budapest Hotel, The Imitation Game, Selma, The Theory of Everything, Whiplash.

Best Actor

Winner: Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)

Nominated: Steve Carell (Foxcatcher), Bradley Cooper (American Sniper), Benedict Cumberbatch (The Imitation Game), Michael Keaton (Birdman)

Best Actress

Winner: Julianne Moore (Still Alice)

Nominated: Marion Cotillard (Two Days, One Night), Felicity Jones (The Theory of Everything), Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl), Reese Witherspoon (Wild).

Best Director

Winner: Alejandro G. Iñárritu (Birdman)

Nominated: Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel), Richard Linklater (Boyhood), Bennett Miller (Foxcatcher), Morten Tyldum (The Imitation Game)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Winner: Graham Moore (The Imitation Game)

Nominated: Jason Hall (American Sniper), Paul Thomas Anderson (Inherent Vice), Anthony McCarten (The Theory of Everything), Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)

Best Original Screenplay

Winner: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris Jr., and Armando Bo (Birdman)

Nominated: Richard Linklater (Boyhood), E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman (Foxcatcher), Wes Anderson and Hugo Guinness (The Grand Budapest Hotel), Dan Gilroy (Nightcrawler)

Best Original Score

Winner: The Grand Budapest Hotel (Alexandre Desplat)

Nominated: The Imitation Game (Alexandre Desplat), Interstellar (Hans Zimmer), Mr. Turner (Gary Yershon), The Theory of Everything (Jóhann Jóhannsson)

Best Original Song

Winner: “Glory,” John Stephens and Lonnie Lynn (Selma)

Nominated: “Everything Is Awesome,” Shawn Patterson (The LEGO Movie)

“Grateful,” Diane Warren (Beyond the Lights)

“I’m Not Gonna Miss You,” Glen Campbell and Julian Raymond (Glen Campbell…I’ll Be Me)

“Lost Stars,” Gregg Alexander and Danielle Brisebois (Begin Again)

Best Documentary Feature

Winner: CitizenFour (Laura Poitras, Mathilde Bonnefoy, and Dirk Wilutzky)

Nominated: Finding Vivian Maier (John Maloof and Charlie Siskel), Last Days in Vietnam (Rory Kennedy and Keven McAlester), The Salt of the Earth (Wim Wenders, Juliano Ribeiro Salgado, and David Rosier), Virunga (Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara)

Best Film Editing

Winner: Whiplash (Tom Cross)

Nominated: American Sniper (Joel Cox and Gary D. Roach), Boyhood (Sandra Adair), The Grand Budapest Hotel (Barney Pilling), The Imitation Game (William Goldenberg)

Best Cinematography

Winner: Birdman (Emmanuel Lubezki)

Nominated: The Grand Budapest Hotel (Robert Yeoman), Ida (Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski), Mr. Turner (Dick Pope), Unbroken (Roger Deakins)

Best Production Design

Winner: The Grand Budapest Hotel (Adam Stockhausen and Anna Pinnock)

Nominated: The Imitation Game (Maria Djurkovic and Tatiana Macdonald), Interstellar (Nathan Crowley and Gary Fettis), Into the Woods (Dennis Gassner and Anna Pinnock), Mr. Turner (Suzie Davies and Charlotte Watts)

Best Animated Feature

Winner: Big Hero 6 (Don Hall, Chris Williams, and Roy Conli)

Nominated: How to Train Your Dragon 2 (Dean DeBlois and Bonnie Arnold), The Boxtrolls (Anthony Stacchi, Graham Annable, and Travis Knight), Song of the Sea (Tomm Moore and Paul Young), The Tale of the Princess Kaguya (Isao Takahata and Yoshiaki Nishimura)

Best Animated Short

Winner: Feast (Patrick Osborne and Kristina Reed)

Nominated: The Bigger Picture (Daisy Jacobs and Christopher Hees), The Dam Keeper (Robert Kondo and Dice Tsutsumi), A Single Life (Joris Oprins), Me and My Moulton (Torill Kove)

Best Visual Effects

Winner: Interstellar (Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter, and Scott Fisher)

Nominated: Captain America: The Winter Soldier (Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Bryan Grill, and Dan Sudick)

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes (Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett, and Erik Winquist)

Guardians of the Galaxy (Stephane Ceretti, Nicolas Aithadi, Jonathan Fawkner, and Paul Corbould)

X-Men: Days of Future Past (Richard Stammers, Lou Pecora, Tim Crosbie, and Cameron Waldbauer)

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)

Nominated: Laura Dern (Wild), Keira Knightley (The Imitation Game), Emma Stone (Birdman), Meryl Streep (Into the Woods)

Best Sound Editing

Winner: American Sniper (Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman)

Nominated: Birdman (Martín Hernández and Aaron Glascock), The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies (Brent Burge and Jason Canovas), Interstellar (Richard King), Unbroken (Becky Sullivan and Andrew DeCristofaro)

Best Sound Mixing

Winner: Whiplash (Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins, and Thomas Curley),

Nominated: American Sniper (John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff, and Walt Martin), Birdman (Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño, and Thomas Varga), Interstellar (Gary A. Rizzo, Gregg Landaker, and Mark Weingarten), Unbroken (Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño, and David Lee)

Best Documentary Short

Winner: Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1 (Ellen Goosenberg Kent and Dana Perry)

Nominated: Joanna (Aneta Kopacz), Our Curse (Tomasz Sliwinski and Maciej Slesicki), The Reaper (Gabriel Serra Arguello), White Earth (J. Christian Jensen)

Best Live-Action Short

Winner: The Phone Call (Mat Kirkby and James Lucas)

Nominated: Aya (Oded Binnun and Mihal Brezis), Boogaloo and Graham (Michael Lennox and Ronan Blaney), Butter Lamp (Hu Wei and Julien Féret), Parvaneh (Talkhon Hamzavi and Stefan Eichenberger)

Best Foreign Language Film

Winner: Ida (Poland)

Nominated: Leviathan (Russia), Tangerines (Estonia), Timbuktu (Mauritania), Wild Tales (Argentina)

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Winner: The Grand Budapest Hotel (Frances Hannon and Mark Coulier)

Nominated: Foxcatcher (Bill Corso and Dennis Liddiard), Guardians of the Galaxy (Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou and David White)

Best Costume Design

Winner: The Grand Budapest Hotel (Milena Canonero)

Nominated: Inherent Vice (Mark Bridges), Into the Woods (Colleen Atwood), Maleficent (Anna B. Sheppard and Jane Clive), Mr. Turner (Jacqueline Durran)

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: J.K. Simmons (Whiplash)

Nominated: Robert Duvall (The Judge), Ethan Hawke (Boyhood), Edward Norton (Birdman), Mark Ruffalo (Foxcatcher)

As usual I won precisely nothing on the obligatory Oscars sweepstake, correctly predicting just 14 of the night's awards. How did you guys fare?

What did you think?


Did the Academy choose the right winners?


Latest from our Creators