ByAdesh Williams, writer at

As we all know the great new movie filming in Downtown Toronto Suicide Squad is coming 2016 and people are actually going to go see it live while its filming is's only 10 dollars an hour. Alright now the actors and actresses that are in this movie is The Joker/Jared Leto, Harley Quinn/Margot Robbie, Deadshot/Will Smith, Captain Bommerang/ Jai Courtney, and last Batman/Ben Affleck.

The Suicide Squad, also known as Task Force X (the name of a closely related but independent supervisory organization), is a name for two fictional organizations that appear in comic books published by DC Comics. The first version debuted in The Brave and the Bold (vol. 1) #25 (1959), and the second in Legends #3 (1987).

The modern Suicide Squad (created by John Ostrander in Legends #3) is an antihero team of incarcerated supervillains who act as deniable assets for the United States government, undertaking high-risk black ops missions in exchange for commuted prison sentences. The group operates out of Belle Reve Penitentiary, under the directorship of Dr. Amanda Waller. The Suicide Squad's existence helps to explain why many convicted villains in the DC Universe roam free without having heroes tracking them down—until they inevitably attempt or commit another crime.

This entry covers the various incarnations of the Suicide Squad (and the five associated monthly Suicide Squad comic book series) that exist throughout DC Universe canon, from its origins in the Silver Age, to its modern-day post-Crisis reimagining, to the current version that was introduced in the wake of DC's New 52 continuity reboot, plus various television media and the upcoming Suicide Squad feature film, set to star Will Smith, Adam Beach, Joel Kinnaman, Margot Robbie, Jared Leto, Jai Courtney, Viola Davis, and Cara Delevingne.

The original Suicide Squad featured in The Brave and the Bold consisted of Rick Flag, Jr., his girlfriend Karin Grace, Dr. Hugh Evans, and Jess Bright. This team was created by writer Robert Kanigher and artist Ross Andru.[3] Later continuity[4] established that the team's earliest incarnation was expressly formed to fight monstrous menaces as a replacement for the Justice Society of America, whose members had mostly retired in the wake of unjust accusations during the McCarthy Era.

The Suicide Squad was revived in the Legends miniseries, with writer John Ostrander at the helm.[5] The renewed concept involved the government employing a group of supervillains to perform missions that were almost certainly suicide runs, a concept popular enough for an ongoing series titled simply Suicide Squad. The Squad was often paired together with DC's other government agency, Checkmate—culminating in the Janus Directive[6] crossover.

The team's concept self-consciously emulated the World War II film The Dirty Dozen and the television series Mission: Impossible.[7] In addition, the Squad's existence was top-secret, creating much tension within the group, and leading the Squad to be targeted (unsuccessfully) by the likes of Lois Lane and Batman (the latter was forced to back off from his investigation when Squad leader Amanda Waller threatened to use her considerable government resources to expose Batman's secret identity[8]). While some Squad members—such as Bronze Tiger, Captain Boomerang, and Deadshot—were permanent fixtures, the balance of membership comprised a rotating cast of often very minor-league villains. These villains would agree to tackle missions in exchange for commuted prison sentences; thus, the Squad served as a partial explanation for what sometimes appeared to be a revolving-door justice system in the DC Universe.[7]

While the Squad succeeded on most of their missions, failure occasionally resulted (most notably the capture of Nemesis by Russian forces after a botched mission[9]), as well as the death of one or more members. The use of minor characters added to the jeopardy, as it was not clear whether any given character would survive a mission. Writer John Ostrander did not shy away from killing off some of the Squad's principal characters, most notably Rick Flag, Jr.—who was eliminated at the end of the book's second year.[10] At the time, the series was also notable for examining the lives, motivations, and psychological makeup of its characters, with one issue per year featuring the group's psychologist interviewing various team members.[11]

Suicide Squad (vol. 1) lasted 66 issues, along with one Annual and one special (Doom Patrol and Suicide Squad Special #1). After the series' cancellation in 1992, the Squad went on to make several guest appearances in titles such as Superboy[12] (this Squad incorporated many of Superboy's enemies, as well as Superboy himself), Hawk & Dove,[13] Chase,[14] and Adventures of Superman.[15]

Suicide Squad (vol. 2) was published in 2001, written by Keith Giffen, with art by Paco Medina. Though the series' first issue featured a Squad composed entirely of Giffen's Injustice League[16] members, the roster was promptly slaughtered, save for Major Disaster and Multi-Man (whose powers make him unkillable). This prompted Squad leader Sgt. Rock to recruit new members—most of whom died during the missions they undertook.

Suicide Squad (vol. 3) (initially subtitled Raise the Flag in DC's solicitations[17]) was an eight-issue miniseries published in 2007. It featured the return of writer John Ostrander, with art by Javier Pina. The story focused on the return of Rick Flag, Jr., and the formation of a new Squad for the purpose of attacking a corporation responsible for the development of a deadly bio-weapon. Along the way, the group had to deal with the treachery of involuntary Squad member General Wade Eiling, and—true to the series' form—several fourth-string villains died in the line of duty.

Suicide Squad (vol. 4) debuted as part of DC Comics' line-wide New 52 continuity reboot in 2011. The relaunched book was written by Adam Glass, with art by Federico Dallocchio and Ransom Getty. Amanda Waller once again directs the group from behind-the-scenes; Deadshot, Harley Quinn, and King Shark feature prominently on this version of the Squad. This series concluded in 2014, with issue #30.

New Suicide Squad, was launched in July 2014. Written by Sean Ryan with art by Jeremy Roberts, the new series continues to feature Deadshot and Harley Quinn, with Deathstroke, Black Manta, and Joker's Daughter added to the mix.


Latest from our Creators