ByDanny Gonzalez, writer at

For every great Marvel movie like Guardians of the Galaxy and Ant-Man to some extent, there's a terrible one lurking in the wind like Amazing Spider-Man 2. Fantastic Four, the latest attempt to make the memorable foursome into a robust franchise for Twentieth Century-Fox again (after ten years) was such as miserable failure filled with behind the scenes controversy including the infamous Josh Trank Twitter disaster when the film was released that caused severe damage to the studio in the process as well as his reputation.

The film which starred the rather off beat grouping of Miles Teller (Whiplash), Kate Mara (Transcendance), Michael B. Jordan (Fruitvale Station) and Jaime Bell (The Chumscrubber) as the eventual team that would become the Fantastic Four due to a Cosmic experiment (in the comics) and in this version which they screwed up royally here, are apart of a military experiment in which they gain their superpowers and eventually have to battle the evil Doctor Doom later on, which only lasted about three and a half minutes all told.

All of the Marvel films have been gaining attention because of their star studded casts and their wonderful effects, but what really gets lost in the shuffle is the music itself which lends both a dramatic arc as well as depth to each character's depth and motivation. Fantastic Four has a blessing in disguise when it secured the immeasurable talents of the great Marco Beltrami into the fold. Beltrami is the hottest composer in Hollywood right now and scored at least four films so far this year including "True Story" starring James Franco and Jonah Hill, "Agent 47 Hitman", "No Escape" starring Owen Wilson and Pierce Brosnan and another studio disaster in "The Seventh Son" starring Jeff Bridges and Julianne Moore, which was released earlier this year. Beltrami was the perfect choice for this film because of inventive and original musical style that would bring plausability and depth to the film. When Phillip Glass, the great classical musician and excellent composer was added to the film to write the music with Beltrami, Fantastic Four had everything you could've ever hoped for and still managed to fail. The music not withstanding.

The score to this version of the F4, (John Ottman did the 2005 version and the sequel, Rise of the Silver Surfer) will easily go down as one of the best scores for a film that definitely didn't deserve one. The music is everything you could've ever hoped for: it's exciting, thrilling and dramatic that actually tries to make the film watchable for its' 104 minutes. Despite all the behind the scenes nonsense that went on, Beltrami and Glass pulled their professional talents to make something out of nothing. This would easily rank up there with the best Marvel film scores that include the seemingly forgotten "Incredible Hulk" by Craig Armstrong, "Captain America" and "The Avengers" both by Alan Silvestri, "The X-Men" by Michael Kamen, "X2" by John Ottman and "Guardians Of The Galaxy" by Tyler Bates.

Utilizing the full power and performance of the Hollywood Symphony and mixing electronics into the material, the score gets off to solid opening with "Fantastic Four Prelude" Beltrami and Glass' music establishes a mood of awe and wonder (something the movie seriously lacked) with a lullaby theme thrown in for good measure. The theme would resurface throughout the score as the score's signature MacGuffin in tracks such as "Footprints", "Pursuit", "Strength in Numbers" and "Building The Future." The duo also gives you plenty of musical dramatic depth that is delicate and at times, surprisingly tender for a film such as this but also keeping the energy and thematic basis of the score within it featured in "Neil Armstrong", "Father And Son", "The Unveiling", "Under Pressure", and "He's Awake."

Sony Classical's album features a healthy amount of music and absolutely worth the price that you pay for it and if you really want to come really close to experiencing what would been a great movie (if it wasn't fucked with), this is definitely it. Fans of Marco Beltrami will definitely be pleased by this fun and exciting score much like his other ones released this past year with plenty of exciting material and a world class composer in Phillip Glass for great support.

  • Fantastic Four (2015)
  • Music By Marco Beltrami and Phillip Glass
  • Sony Classical 25 Tracks - Disc Time: 66:17
  • Overall grade: A-
Track Listings:
  • 1. Fantastic Four Prelude 5:16
  • 2. Transporting the Car 2:26
  • 3. Science Fair 1:03
  • 4. Arriving in the City 2:45
  • 5. Boardroom, Baxter's Lab 0:45
  • 6. Reed Enters the Lab 0:52
  • 7. Meeting Victor 0:52
  • 8. Johnny In the Lab 0:34
  • 9. Building the Shuttle 2:49
  • 10. Elder Arrives 3:11
  • 11. Neil Armstrong 2:57
  • 12. Quantum Shuttle 1:56
  • 13. First Footprints 4:00
  • 14. Planet Zero Escape 2:38
  • 15. Elder and Storm, Ben's Drop 2:27
  • 16. Real World Applications 1:39
  • 17. Elder Pressures Storm 1:01
  • 18. Looking For Reed 1:58
  • 19. Ben's Mission, Finding Reed 1:09
  • 20. Storm Talks With Johnny 1:49
  • 21. Return to Planet Zero 2:42
  • 22. Victor's Wake 6:55
  • 23. In Pursuit of Victor 3:01
  • 24. Confrontation 5:17
  • 25. End Titles 6:15


Latest from our Creators