ByAlisha Grauso, writer at
Editor-at-large here at Movie Pilot. Nerd out with me on Twitter, comrades: @alishagrauso
Alisha Grauso

One of the things that made last summer's Guardians of the Galaxy become an instant classic beloved by everyone, aside from the Han Solo-like charm of Chris Pratt, humor, and amazing action, was the music. Music held the movie together as the recurring theme both in the background and in the script.

So it's awesome to see that Marvel is continuing that trend with Disney XD's Guardians of the Galaxy Animated Series. Today, Marvel announced they'd be releasing 'Guardians of the Galaxy: Cosmic Mix Vol. 1' as a companion soundtrack to the animated cartoon. It will include, of course, what has now become known to a new generation as the Guardians' theme song (as opposed to a brutal torture scene in Reservoir Dogs), Blue Suede's 'Hooked on a Feeling.'

But it also includes eleven new songs for a younger generation to wrap their ears around. Here's the full track list:

1. “Hooked On a Feeling” – Blue Swede

2. “Funk No. 49” – The James Gang

3. “Drift Away” – Dobie Gray

4. “Walk Away” – The James Gang

5. “Boys Are Back in Town” – Thin Lizzy

6. “Shake Your Groove Thing” – Peaches and Herb

7. “Funk Funk” – Cameo

8. “Joy to the World” – Three Dog Night

9. “I Will Survive” – Gloria Gaynor

10. “Rocky Mountain Way” – Joe Walsh

11. “So You Are a Star” – Hudson Brothers

12. “Don’t Stop Me Now” – Queen

I have to say, that's as classic a list as the soundtrack for the original film. James Gunn would be so proud.

The soundtrack will be available on October 16.

Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy animated series debuts with a one-hour premiere on Saturday, Sept. 26 on Disney XD.


Latest from our Creators