ByIan M. Simpson, writer at
I love superheroes and villains alike! I'm also a big fan of Sci-Fi, Fantasy, and Gaming! Follow me on Twitter! @The_Simpsonian
Ian M. Simpson

As of today, we have less than a week before the release of [Star Wars: Battlefront](tag:2684021), the new video game adventure in the Star Wars galaxy. The first Battlefront came out in 2004, and it opened a whole new world for Star Wars gamers. You could pick between the rebels and the empire in some of the most classic battles, such as the battle of Hoth.

When the second game came out a year later, fans were excited to find that the game made many improvements on the original. Instead of just original trilogy missions, you could join the clone army or the droid army and fight on Geonosis, Kamino, and many other locations from the prequel trilogy. Battlefront 2 also gave you the opportunity to play as legendary Star Wars heroes and villains, such as Darth Vader, Obi-Wan Kenobi, and Han Solo.

A decade later, Star Wars Battlefront is back, and they are changing the game yet again.

Less Planets, More Content!

In Battlefront 2, we had no shortage of maps, with battles possible on Naboo, Yavin IV, Mustafar, Polis Massa, Utapau, and dozens of other worlds. However, the new Star Wars: Battlefront is going to simplify things by releasing only four planets on its release date: Tatooine, Hoth, Endor, and Sullust.

But sheathe your blasters and lightsabers good Star Wars fans, they are releasing four planets, not four maps. Each planet will feature multiple different maps, so you aren't stuck fighting over the same patch of snow on Hoth over and over. Not to mention the upcoming December DLC will give us Jakku, a whole new planet with more maps and heroes.

Less Heroes, More Balancing!

The hero system was probably the most popular feature of the second Battlefront, as it let you play as a large number of characters regardless of what team you're on. The good guys could play as Luke Skywalker, Yoda, Mace Windu, Chewbacca, and more. Those who favor the Dark Side can play as Boba Fett, Darth Maul, General Grievous, and of course Darth Vader himself, amongst many others.

Instead of having such a massive line-up as before, the new game showcases only three heroes on either team. The rebels get Luke, Leia, and Han Solo, while the empire gets Vader, Darth Sidious, and Boba Fett. New heroes are expected to come along with the DLC release in December, with Kylo Ren and Rey being likely candidates for the game.

Even though there are going to be less heroes, it looks like the hero system itself is going to improved in the new game. In the previous game, everybody wanted to choose Luke over Leia, for the simple reason that it was easier to kill stormtroopers with a lightsaber. However, Leia has been strengthened considerably for the new game, with a blaster capable of killing the empire's forces in a single hit. Han and Boba Fett are also being balanced so they will not be passed up by their lightsaber-wielding alternatives.

Swapping Space Battles For Dogfights!

Another fun feature of Battlefront 2 was the space battle feature, where you could hop into an X-Wing or TIE Fighter to blow up the enemies' command ship. You could either dive right in and try to shoot everything with proton torpedoes or sneak aboard the ships and sabotage from within. Needless to say, it was an extremely addictive game mode.

Instead of battling it out in the depths of space, the new Battlefront is allowing you to take your X-Wings around the planets themselves in vicious dogfights. Along with X-Wings, A-Wings, TIE Fighters, and TIE Interceptors, you can also pilot Han Solo's Millennium Falcon and Boba Fett's Slave I!

No Campaign, But Plenty Of Missions!

Battlefront 2 featured an extensive campaign mode, where you started out playing as loyal clone troopers and followed the events of Order 66 to become servants of the Empire. The campaign took you to many different worlds and let you play as a multitude of different characters.

Unfortunately enough, the new Battlefront will not feature a campaign mode at all! Instead, you will be able to try out a series of different solo and co-op "missions", including training missions, a survival mode, and hero battles. Though they may not have a story to them, the missions will still offer a much-needed break from the multiplayer frenzy.


The previous game had you play as a bunch of faceless soldiers, rushing into the battlefield to your inevitable demise. However, the newest incarnation is taking things to a whole new level by letting you customize your very own soldier! A variety of faces, weapons, and abilities will be available for you to deck out your rebel or stormtrooper in whatever gear suits you the best.

You can even unlock alien skins for your character, allowing you to take the field as a Rodian, a Zabrak, or many other Star Wars races.

After a very long wait, it seems like DICE and Electronic Arts are finally giving fans what they really want with a unique and well-developed new Star Wars game. Judging by the enormously positive reviews on the Beta version of the game a couple of weeks ago, it looks like we are all in for a treat.

Star Wars: Battlefront will debut for Xbox One, Playstation 4, and PC on November 17, 2015


Latest from our Creators