ByHeather Snowden, writer at Creators.co
Lover of bad puns, nostalgic feels and all things Winona. Email: [email protected] Tweet: @heathbetweetin
Heather Snowden

While a terrible breakup is something like a rite of passage towards a better and stronger you, the way we handle the demise of a relationship varies from person to person. Some tend to move on pronto with a quick bend and snap, whereas others make like Elle Woods and spend their days getting smart and sassy in order to shame their ex in front of their of peers.

But if we're honest, quite a lot of the time, you'll spend countless hours plonked in front of Facebook stalking the shit out of them. Why are they smiling? Why do they look like they're having an awesome time without you? They never loved you, did they? Who's that person? Are they dating now? AHHHHH, etc. And repeat.

Thankfully Facebook's product manager Kelly Winters may have just come up with the perfect solution to halt this unhealthy habit. In a blog post entitled, 'Improving the Experience When Relationships End,' the social site has worked on a new way of easing users through their breakups.

"Starting today, we are testing tools to help people manage how they interact with their former partners on Facebook after a relationship has ended."

These tools essentially help block and filter how much information regarding your ex you can access via the site. Once your relationship status has officially changed, you will be presented with a number of options spanning from how often you see their name and profile picture, to removing them from the 'suggested' list in image tagging preferences.

Also, as a cheeky bonus, you can alter who sees the pics you're in with your ex, meaning that if you enter a fresh relationship, your new partner won't be bombarded with images of you all loved up with someone else.

Additionally your ex won't be notified of any of these requests, which is an awesome, cruelty-free way of moving on without letting them know that a) You're not over it and b) You can really do without the constant reminders.

"This work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives."

The new features will be available immediately throughout the U.S. and will then be rolled out in accordance to user feedback.

Thank you for saving us from ourselves, Facebook!

Source: Tech.Mic

Trending

Latest from our Creators