ByJames McDonald, writer at
James is a Movie Critic and Celebrity Interviewer with over 30 years of experience as an Award-Winning Filmmaker.
James McDonald

Celebrating its 25th year as the industry standard for screenwriting software, Final Draft, Inc. has announced Paul Schrader as its Hall of Fame Award honoree for the 11th annual Final Draft Awards. This year, Final Draft will also partner with the Writers Guild Foundation to present an archival exhibit at the event and extend special invitations to WGA writers to support the Foundation. By highlighting the archives, Final Draft, Inc. hopes to raise awareness among working writers and increase donations to the collection, furthering the Foundation’s efforts to preserve and celebrate the history of screenwriting in America.

The Final Draft Awards include: the Hall of Fame Award, honoring a writer whose work has had a profound influence on the industry; the Screenwriters Choice Awards, which recognizes the past year’s writers at the top of their craft; and the Big Break Screenwriting Contest, which awards more than $80,000 in cash and prizes to aspiring writers. The ceremony, to be hosted for the second year in a row by comedy writers Thomas Lennon & Robert Ben Garant, will be held on February 11 at the Paramount Theatre on the Paramount Pictures Studios lot.

“As we mark our 25th year in business, we have so much to celebrate at the Final Draft Awards this year. I’m especially honored to bestow iconic screenwriter Paul Schrader with our Hall of Fame Award during this historic year,” said Marc Madnick, CEO of Final Draft, Inc. “In addition, our partnership with the Writers Guild Foundation is another great way to observe our anniversary and helps to further our mission of supporting writers and their legacies in Hollywood.”

Filmmaker Paul Schrader has written some of the most lauded films in Hollywood history, including “Taxi Driver,” “Raging Bull,” “The Last Temptation of Christ,” “The Mosquito Coast,” and “Bringing Out the Dead.” The acclaimed films he has both written and directed include “Affliction,” “American Gigolo,” and “Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters.” As a director, his work includes “Cat People,” “Auto Focus,” “Patty Hearst,” and “The Canyons.” In 1999, Schrader was the recipient of the WGA’s Laurel Award for Screen, honoring a lifetime of achievement in outstanding writing for motion pictures.

Previous Final Draft Hall of Fame Award winners include Nancy Meyers, Lawrence Kasdan, writing team Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski, Steven Zaillian, Aaron Sorkin, Robert Towne, Stephen J. Cannell, Oliver Stone, Syd Field, and Sydney Pollack.

Hosting the Final Draft Awards for the second year in a row will be Thomas Lennon and Robert Ben Garant. The pair’s screenwriting credits include “Night at the Museum,” “Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian,” “Balls of Fury,” “Herbie Fully Loaded,” and “Reno 911!: Miami,” as well as the Comedy Central series “Reno 911!” They also co-wrote the best-selling screenwriting book ‘Writing Movies for Fun and Profit.’

Check out Irish Film Critic for more exciting news, reviews and giveaways.


Latest from our Creators