ByRob Wainfur, writer at
Rob Wainfur

The Saturn Awards honours films and television series by the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films. Now in it's 42nd year and this year looks like it could be a bumper year for Mad Max, Star Wars The Force Awakens and the excellent Walking Dead TV show.

The Force Awakens is way out in front with 15 nominations followed by Mad Max and Crimson Peak both with nine. Jurassic World hasn't done too badly either bringing in seven nominations, the same number as AMC's The Walking Dead. Bridge of Spies is in the mix too with best Thriller and of course John Williams for Star Wars The Force Awakens in the best score category.

The award ceremony will take place in June in Burbank.

Here are the film nominations:

Best Fantasy Film

Age of Adaline

Baahubali: The Beginning



The Hunger Games Mockingjay Part 2

Ted 2

Best Action Adventure Film


Fast & Furious 7

Mission Impossible Rogue Nation

The Revenant



Best Thriller Film

Black Mass

Bridge of Spies

The Gift

The Hateful Eight

Mr. Holmes


Best Horror Film

Crimson Peak

Insidious Chapter 3

It Follows


The Visit

What We Do In The Shadows

Best Supporting Actor

Paul Bethany – Avengers: Age of Ultron

John Boyega – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Michael Douglas – Ant-Man

Adam Driver – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Walter Goggins – The Hateful Eight

Simon Pegg – Mission Impossible Rogue Nation

Michael Shannon – 99 Homes

Best Supporting Actress

Jessica Chasten – Crimson Peak

Carrie Fisher – Star Wars The Force Awakens

Evangeline Lily – Ant-Man

Lupine Nyong’o – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Tamannaah – Baahubali: The Beginning

Alicia Vikander – Ex-Machina

Best Performance By A Young Actor

Olivia DeJonge – The Visit

James Freedson-Jackson – Cop Car

Milo Parker – Mr. Holmes

Elias & Lukas Schwartz – Goodnight Mommy

Ty Simpkins – Jurassic World

Jacob Tremblay – Room

Best International Film

The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out Of The Window And Disappeared

Goodnight Mommy

Labyrinth of Lies


Turbo Kid

The Wave

Best Actress

Emily Blunt – Sicario

Jessica Chasten – The Martian

Blake Lively – The Age of Adaline

Daisy Ridley – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Charlize Theron – Mad Max: Fury Road

Mia Wasikowska – Crimson Peak

Best Actor

Matt Damon – The Martian

Leonardo DiCaprio – The Revenant

Aaron Egerton – Kingsman: The Secret Service

Harrison Ford – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Domhnall Gleeson – Ex Machina

Samuel L. Jackson – The Hateful Eight

Paul Rudd – Ant-Man

Best Film Director

J.J. Abrams – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Guillermo del Toro – Crimson Peak

Alex Garland – Ex-Machina

George Miller – Mad Max: Fury Road

Peyton Reed – Ant-Man

Ridley Scott – The Martian

Colin Trevorrow – Jurassic World

Best Film Writing

Guillermo del Toro, Matthew Robbins – Crimson Peak

Alex Garland – Ex Machina

Drew Goddard – The Martian

Jane Goldman, Matthew Vaughn – Kingsman: The Secret Service

Rick Jaffa, Amanda Silver, Colin Trevorrow, Derek Connolly – Jurassic World

Lawrence Kasdan, J.J. Abrams, Michael Arndt – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

George Miller, Brendan McCarthy,

Nick Lathouris – Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Film Editing

Maryann Brandon, Mary Jo Markey – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Eddie Hamilton, Jon Harris – Kingsman: The Secret Service

Dan Lebental, Colby Parker, Jr. – Ant-Man

Leigh Folsom Boyd, Dylan Highsmith, Kirk Morri, Christian Wagner – Furious 7

Kevin Stitt – Jurassic World

Margaret Sixel – Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Film Production Design

Rick Carter, Darren Gilford – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Scott Chambliss – Tomorrowland

Sabu Cyril – Baahubali: The Beginning

Colin Gibson – Mad Max: Fury Road

Thomas E. Sanders – Crimson Peak

Ed Verreaux – Jurassic World

Best Film Music

Tom Holkenborg – Mad Max: Fury Road

Johann Johannsson – Sicario

M.M. Keeravani – Baahubali: The Beginning

Ennio Morricone – The Hateful Eight

Fernando Velazquez – Crimson Peak

John Williams – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best Film Costume Design

Alexandra Byrne – Avengers: Age of Ultron

Kate Hawley – Crimson Peak

Michael Kaplan – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Arianne Phillips – Kingsman: The Secret Service

Sandy Powell – Cinderella

Rama Rajamouli, Prashanti Tipirineni – Baahubali: The Beginning

Best Film Make-Up

David Marti, Montse Ribe, Xavi Bastida – Crimson Peak

Damian Martin, Nadine Prigge – Mad Max: Fury Road

Neal Scanlan – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Joel Harlow, Kenny Niederbaumer – Black Mass

Gregory Nicotero, Howard Beger,

Heba Thorisdottir – The Hateful Eight

Donald Mowat – Sicario

Best Film Special / Visual Effects

Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach,

Neal Scanlan, Chris Corbould – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Andrew Jackson, Tom Wood,

Dan Oliver, Andy Williams – Mad Max: Fury Road

Andrew Whithurst, Paul Norris,

Mark Ardington, Sara Bennett – Ex Machina

Richard Stammers, Anders Langlands,

Chris Lawrence, Steven Warner – The Martian

John Rosengrant, Michael Lantieri,

Tim Alexander – Jurassic World

Paul Corbould, Chris Townsend,

Ben Snow, Paul Butterworth – Avengers: Age of Ultron

Here are the TV nominations:

Best Fantasy TV Series

Game of Thrones


Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrel


The Muppets

The Magicians

The Shannara Chronicles

Best Action Thriller TV Series

Bates Motel




The Last Ship

The Librarians


Best Superhero Adaptation Series


Legends of Tomorrow

The Flash


Marvel’s Agent Carter

Marvel’s Agents of Shield


Best Horror TV Series

American Horror Story Hotel

Ash vs Evil Dead

Fear The Walking Dead


Teen Wolf

The Strain

The Walking Dead

Best Supporting TV Actor

Richard Armitage – Hannibal

Vincent D’Onofrio – Daredevil

Kit Harington – Game of Thrones

Toby Jones – Wayward Pines

Erik Knudsen – Continuum

Lance Roddick – Bosch

David Tennant – Marvel’s Jessica Jones

Patrick Wilson – Fargo

Best Supporting TV Actress

Gillian Anderson – Hannibal

Toga Feldshuh – The Walking Dead

Calista Flockhart – Supergirl

Dana Gurira – The Walking Dead

Lena Headey – Game of Thrones

Melissa Leo – Wayward Pines

Melissa McBride – The Walking Dead

Best Guest Performance on TV

Laura Benanti – Supergirl

Steven Brand – Teen Wolf

Victor Garber – The Flash

Scott Glenn – Daredevil

Alex Kingston – Doctor Who: The Husbands of River Song

John Carroll Lynch – The Walking Dead

William Shatner – Haven

Best Younger Actor on TV

Max Charles – The Strain

Frank Dillane – Fear The Walking Dead

Jodelle Ferland – Dark Matter

Brenock O’Connor – Game of Thrones

Chandler Riggs – The Walking Dead

Dylan Sprayberry – Teen Wolf

Maisie Williams – Game of Thrones

Best TV Actress

Gillian Anderson – The X-Files

Caitriona Balfe – Outlander

Melissa Benoist – Supergirl

Kim Dickens – Fear The Walking Dead

Rachel Nichols – Continuum

Krysten Ritter – Marvel’s Jessica Jones

Rebecca Romijn – The Librarians

Best TV Actor

Bruce Campbell – Ash vs Evil Dead

Charlie Cox – Daredevil

Matt Dillon – Wayward Pines

David Duchovny – The X-Files

Grant Gustin – The Flash

Sam Heughan – Outlander

Andrew Lincoln – The Walking Dead

Mads Mikkelsen – Hannibal

Best Science Fiction TV Series

The 100



Doctor Who

The Expanse

Wayward Pines

The X-Files

Best New Media Television Series

Bosch – Amazon

Daredevil – Netflix

Dreamwork’s Dragons – Netflix

The Man In The High Castle – Amazon

Marvel’s Jessica Jones – Netflix

Powers – Crackle

Sense8 – Netflix

The Bearded Trio - The Site For Steven Spielberg, George Lucas and John Williams


Latest from our Creators