ByEd Paten, writer at

So if you would rather watch a video, instead of reading the content, then make sure to click my Youtube Video above. Otherwise...on with the show.

Ok so, when you start delving into Star Wars Lore, you are going to undoubtedly come across the word Canon. So what is Canon? Canon is defined as a list of sacred books or writings, that are accepted as genuine. If it is considered to be Canon, then it is considered to be true. So then what is considered Canon, in relation to Star Wars? Because in the almost 40 years since Star Wars was first released, an absolute boatload of novels, comics, video games, live action television shows and cartoons have been sent out into the public. Some of that was considered to be canon and some wasn’t.

However when Disney purchased the Star Wars Franchise from George Lucas back on October 30th, 2012, they had a dilemma in front of them. They knew that they were going to create more movies going forward. I mean, you don’t buy a franchise like Star Wars, for $4 BILLION dollars and not have plans to make your money back. But they needed to decid what they were going to do with all of this material that had been accumulating over the past 4 decades in the expanded universe.

Ultimately they decided that as rich and diverse as the stories were, they were too limiting. Meaning they couldn’t tell the stories that they wanted to tell without having to go back and make sure it adheres to every single story that had already been written. So they hired a woman by the name of Kathleen Kennedy to be the new CEO of all things Star Wars. One of the first things she decided to do was to set up a small group dedicated people to ensure the continuity and canon moving forward. This group is called the “Lucasfilm Story Group”.

So now everything moving forward of April 25th, 2014 has to be put in review of the Story Group, to be considered if it falls into the new Canon. All of the original Canon, got lumped into what is now known as “Legends Canon”.

1) Star Wars Episode 1 - The Phantom Menace (Movie)

2) Star Wars: Obi-wan & Anakin (Comic)

3) Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones (Movie)

Star Wars: The Clone Wars (TV Cartoon)

5) Star Wars: Dark Disciple (Novel)

6) Darth Maul: Son of Dathomir (Comic)

7) Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge of the Sith (Movie)

8) Kanan: The Last Padawan (Comic)

9) Lords of the Sith (Novel)

10) Tarkin (Novel)

11) Star Wars Online Webtoon (Online Web Comic)

12) A New Dawn (Novel)

13) Star Wars Rebels (TV Cartoon)

14) Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (Movie)

15) Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope (Movie)

16) Star Wars: Princess Leia (Comic)

17) Smuggler’s Run (Novel)

18) Star Wars: Chewbacca (Comic)

19) Heir to the Jedi (Novel)

20) The Weapon of the Jedi (Novel)

21) Star Wars (Comic)

22) Star Wars: Darth Vader (Comic)

23) Star Wars: Lando (Comic)

24) Battlefront: Twilight Company (Novel)

25) Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back

26) Moving Target (Novel)

27) Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi (Movie)

28) Aftermath (Novel)

29) Shattered Empire (Comic)

30) Star Wars: Uprising (Video Game)

31) Star Wars: C-3PO (Comic)

32) Aftermath: Life Debt (Novel)

33) Aftermath: Empire’s End (Novel)

34) Lost Stars (Novel)

35) New Republic: Bloodline (Novel)

36) Star Wars Battlefront: The Battle of Jakku (Video Game)

37) Before the Awakening (Novel)

38) Star Wars: Episode VII - The Force Awakens (Movie)

Check out some of my other videos on YouTube!!!


Latest from our Creators