ByDan Lambert, writer at
Writer and superhero comics fan loving his wife,baby, and life.
Dan Lambert

In the current DC Movie Universe, sometimes called DC Extended Universe, we currently have the hit ,albeit somewhat controversial, movie [Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice](tag:711870). I personally loved the movie and it was chock full of Easter eggs and teasers for possible future villains. Minor spoilers ahead so please read at your own peril.

OK, warning done so here we go. In Batman v Superman, we saw signs of the New Gods. First and foremost is Bruce Wayne's Knightmare showing a dystopian future with Superman acting as a ruling despot with his own army - Superman armbands and all. During this dream sequence, we saw an Omega symbol and huge pillars of fire that look like the stem part of a nuclear explosion.

What both of these items were are signs of the coming God of Evil, Darkseid. The Omega symbol is his sign and the pillars of fire are called "fire pits" which exist on Darkseid's homeworld of Apokolips. Next, we saw the hero Cyborg, Victor Stone, being turned into Cyborg by his father Dr. Silas Stone at S.T.A.R. Labs. Dr. Stine is incorporating a glowing, pulsating box to turn Vic into Cyborg. This is called a "Mother Box", which is a sentient AI computer long associated with the New Gods. In final Lex Luthor scene of the movie, he's references beings from space who've heard his beacon and are coming. Another direct reference to the New Gods who reside elsewhere in he Universe. Finally, there is a deleted scene released which presents one of the New Gods. Here's a link to my article on that event.

Who are these New Gods? Well, the New Gods are an amazing group of celestial beings who have been in a struggle between good and evil since time began. This is literally Heaven versus Hell. The New Gods are part of what's called collectively Jack Kirby's Fourth World.

For those unfamiliar with Jack Kirby, he was the co-creator of Captain America in the Golden Age and later co-creator(some say soley created) Marvel icons such as Iron Man, Thor, The X-Men, The Avengers, The Fantastic Four, and just about every other character Marvel built it's fan base from. Kirby left Marvel Comics and went to DC Comics where he wrote his own personal magnum opus. Kirby began writing four titles simultaneously with an interconnecting story.

The stories began in one of DC's least read comics in Superman's Pal Jimmy Olsen 133. This kicked off the Fourth World with an eclectic mix of Super-heroes, hippies, bikers, counter-culture references, and DC's old standby Superman. The Fourth World then ran through three additional titles named New Gods, The Forever People, and Mister Miracle. Each with its own panache but still with interconnecting stories.

New Gods #1

The Forever People #1

Mister Miracle#1

In Jack Kirby's Fourth World, it centered on the God of Evil, Darkseid, and his search for the Anti-life Equation which is a theoretical math equation that would allow Darkseid to subjugate the entire universe to his will.

The New Gods book focused on the inhabitants of the planet New Genesis. New Genesis represented all that was good and was the Heaven faction of the conflict versus Darkseid's planet Apokolips, ie Hell. The New Gods were led by a benevolent leader named Izaya the Inheritor who was called mostly by his title Highfather. The main character of the book was named Orion and his fight to prevent Darkseid retrieving the Anti-life Equation. The irony of Orion is that he was actually the son of Darkseid who had been raised on New Genesis after having been traded by Darkseid to avert war for Highfather's son Sott Free, Mister Miracle. There were many other wonderful supporting players such as Lightray and Metron but we'll focus on the main characters for brevity.

The Mister Miracle book focused on Mister Miracle,who again, was Highfather's son and was raised in tortureous orphanages on Darkseid's planet Apokolips. Mister Miracle went by the name Scott Free and teamed with his future wife Big Barda to oppose Darkseid's schemes.

The Forever People book focused on five New Gods sent to Earth to try and prevent Darkseid from finding the Anti-life Equation. The Forever People appeared as hippie kids and consisted of Big Bear, Mark Moonrider, Serafin, Vykin the Black, and Beautiful Dreamer.

Finally, the Superman's Pal Jimmy Olsen focused on Jimmy Olsen and a group of kids called the Newsboy Legion who fought against Earth collaborators of Darkseid called Inter-gang. This was definitely the most "far out" book in that you had Jimmy Olsen leading a biker gang, getting cloned, fighting monsters, becoming a monster, and even teaming up with Comedian Don Rickels. This book is very, very fun and also presents the first look at Project Cadmus which is now going to be featured in the new Supergirl show.

All of the books were featured parts of Kirby's Fourth World that introduced Darkseid and the New Gods to the masses. There have been many, many great Comics writers and artists who've added to the rich Fourth World history but, I just wanted to focus on the creator Jack Kirby. This will give you an ever so brief overview of the New Gods that we're getting ready to encounter in the upcoming Justice League movie or possibly movies. Darkseid will most definitely be the biggest and best bad guy that Superman had faced on the big screen thus far. I for one, can't wait to see it!


Latest from our Creators