ByGenevieve Van Voorhis, writer at
Game of Thrones, ASOUE, and all things '00s. Twitter: @gen_vanvee Email: [email protected]
Genevieve Van Voorhis

Kevin Feige, the president of Marvel Studios, recently sat down with Entertainment Weekly to talk about the upcoming plans for the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU), and apparently Phase 4 is going to look very different than the universe as we know it.

While the stories are all inspired by the original Marvel Comics, Feige clarifies:

"I think you look at comics as a guide."
Pirates Of The Caribbean: The Curse Of The Black Pearl
Pirates Of The Caribbean: The Curse Of The Black Pearl

Phase 3 begins with Captain America: Civil War, which premieres on May 6. Feige told EW:

"I think there will be a finality to moments of Phase 3, as well as new beginnings that will mark a different, a very different, a distinctively different chapter in what will some day be a complete first saga made up of three phases."

Phase 1 began with Iron Man, back in May 2008, and continued with The Incredible Hulk, Iron Man 2, Thor, Captain America: The First Avenger, and Marvel's The Avengers.

The more recent movies make up Phase 2: Iron Man 3, Thor: The Dark World, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Guardians of the Galaxy, Avengers: Age of Ultron, and Ant-Man.

Phase 3 will already be markedly different from its predecessors, with Captain America: Civil War containing a hero versus hero conflict, new to the MCU.

Civil War director Joe Russo states:

"Things always get deconstructed, right? You build things up and people enjoy the experiences you've built up. But then you kind of reach an apex or you reach a climax, a moment where you go, 'This structure is really going to start to be repetitious if we do this again, so what do we do now?' So now, you deconstruct it. We're in the deconstruction phase with Civil War and leading into Infinity War, which are the culmination films."

The plans for the rest of Phase 3 involve exploring heroes that are not heavily featured — or featured at all — in Civil War. This includes Doctor Strange, Black Panther, Captain Marvel, and additional films for Guardians of the Galaxy, Spider-Man, Thor, Ant-Man and others.

The next installment of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, 'Captain America: Civil War,' comes out on May 6.

What are your predictions for Phase 3 and 4 of the Marvel Cinematic Universe?

Source: Entertainment Weekly


Latest from our Creators