ByKatie Granger, writer at Creators.co
MP Staff Writer, come to bargain.
Katie Granger

It's not been all that long since Pokemon Sun and Pokemon Moon were first announced by the Pokémon Company, Nintendo and Game Freak — well, not that long by typical video game news standards anyway.

But we've still been waiting pretty patiently for any news from Nintendo and The Pokémon Company regarding the specifics of the upcoming Gen VII games, and said news has been less than forthcoming on the matter.

There might be cars. Maybe. We don't know.
There might be cars. Maybe. We don't know.

First we were told that the first footage from the upcoming Pokémon games would be unveiled via a special episode of Japanese variety show Gathering at the Pokémon House on Sunday April 3, but the episode air date came and went, and disappointed everyone with the lack of new information.

And then CoroCoro Comic — Japan's popular monthly magazine often tasked with breaking Pokémon news — had its big April reveal, which didn't really reveal anything at all. Instead we were shown only some blank box art of Pokémon Sun and Pokémon Moon, and a message saying that the new content would actually be unveiled in May. Great, thanks for that guys.

The big box art "reveal"
The big box art "reveal"

But, it's looking like we might finally actually get our first look at the finer details of the upcoming games soon, unless this is just another fake out, we've been burned before, too many times.

According to Pokémon series producer and director Junichi Masuda — who made the announcement on his blog — "brand new information" about Pokémon Sun and Moon will be revealed (for real this time!) on Tuesday May 10. The new info is set to land around 21:00 JST (Japan Standard Time) on May 10, which is around about 5AM PT / 8AM ET and 1PM BST.

Junichi Masuda's announcement
Junichi Masuda's announcement

This coincides quite nicely with the next CoroCoro Comic release, which usually lands the second week of each month. The May reveal should actually contain the first lot of information about Pokémon Sun and Moon. They wouldn't trick us twice, right?

So what will we see first? Starters? Trainers? New locations? Legendaries!? And what about the fabled release date, speculated to be in the latter part of 2016, just in time for the Christmas buying frenzy? All will be revealed soon (we hope), so watch this space!

What do you want to see in Pokémon Sun and Moon? Tell us in the comments below!

Source: Junichi Masuda (via lineblog)

Trending

Latest from our Creators